Utility links #102 - 155 McDermid Dr., Prince George, BC, V2M 4T8| Phone: 250-562-4843| Contact Us
Aboriginal Education Department
Five Learning FOCI

FOCUS ON CULTURAL INTEGRATION

The Aboriginal Education Department has adopted Five Learning Foci that are relevant to Aboriginal Education they are: Culture and Indigenous Knowledge, Elders and Language, Rediscovery, Restitution and Restorative Practice and Youth Leadership. The Five Learning Foci have a trained facilitator within the focus that work towards weaving Aboriginal Education into schools and classrooms. Each Family within the Family of Schools structure is given an Aboriginal Learning Focus for the school year and the family works towards building their knowledge and understanding of Aboriginal Education. Students are provided with experiential learning opportunities that involve one of the Five Learning Foci, this helps to build awareness, understanding and genuine respect for Aboriginal Worldviews, History and Perspectives. Educators within the family structure are provided with Professional Development opportunities in Aboriginal Education. This helps to garner a deeper understanding of Aboriginal Peoples, Culture and Histories. Click on the links below to discover more about each FOCI.

 

mel 2.jpg 

 Melissa Morin

250-562-4843 Local 217   

mmorin@sd57.bc.ca

Carolyn 2.jpg

Caralyn Hoffman

                       250-562-4843 Local 218

choffman@sd57.bc.ca

 

 Restitution and Restorative Practice

Candice sm.jpg 

 Candice George

250-562-4843 Local 214

cgeorge@sd57.bc.ca

 

 Culture and Indigenous Knowledge

Cheryl 2.jpg 

Cheryl is off on medical leave

If you would like more information on Elders please contact Angela Carter

 Cheryl Schweizer 

 

 

Elders and Language

 

John 2.jpg 

  John Giannisis

250-562-4843 Local 210

jgiannisis@sd57.bc.ca

 

Rediscovery

Patrica 2.jpg 

Patrica Lunden​

250-562-4843 Local 219

plunden@sd57.bc.ca

Tessa.jpg 

Tessa Fraser

250-562-4843 Local 216

tfraser@sd57.bc.ca

 

 

 ​Youth Leadership